This Is My Father’s World

This is my Father’s world: I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas;
His hand the wonders wrought.
– Words by Maltbie D. Babcock

Church In Teveren

Today is Sunday, a day of rest, set aside by and for our creator.  Rather than attending church service, I went for a ride in the countryside.  Surrounded by wonders natural and man-made, the lyrics to “This Is My Father’s World” floated through my mind.  This beautiful Pres­by­te­r­ian hymn was reportedly inspired by the author’s walks in the woods.  Filled with rich imagery and internal rhymes, it captured my sense of wonder and pleasure perfectly.

God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. – Gen. 1:31

Field In Bloom

Wind Power

2 Comments

Filed under general interest

2 responses to “This Is My Father’s World

  1. Awesome scenery, John! I’m glad you started this blog, as it allows the folks back home an opportunity to share your experience of Europe. I’ve already subscribed, so I can stay current with your posts. Here’s an idea you might consider: Have you seen those Joby Gorillapods? They’re basically a flexible-legged tripod with gripper nodes along each leg. This allows you to wrap the legs around odd shaped objects, to open up camera shot opportunities. Here’s their website: http://joby.com/store/?gclid=COjX8-GF2KECFRdSagodHBHpHw. I bought myself their Gorillapod Magnetic, so I can attach my digital camera to the steel surfaces of a ship. Very strong magnets! Personally, I’d like to see a video clip from one of your rides.

    Ciao!
    –Dave Eriksen

    • Good suggestions, Dave. Having some videos with sound would be cool, but I would have to pay WordPress for the service. Will think about it.

      If you click on the pictures, you can view a much larger, higher res. version. It really is quite lovely around here! The Europeans have a good eye for that which is pleasant.

      Not sure about the Gorilla pods. I try to travel light on the bike. Usually, the bike serves to stabilize the camera for telephoto shots. We’ll see. I’m just getting used to the overall production flow of taking pics., processing, uploading, posting… I’ll see about getting more creative with the camera in the future.

Leave a Reply

